JICA considers household solar financing model for Iraq
Talks with the Electricity Ministry covered solar projects, grid connections and a possible household financing scheme; no lending facility has been announced.
Electricity generation, grids, reliable supply and utility services across Iraq.
Talks with the Electricity Ministry covered solar projects, grid connections and a possible household financing scheme; no lending facility has been announced.
The Oil Ministry’s implementation meeting focused on gas from Buzurgan, Fakka and Abu Gharb for electricity generation.
The commercial offer remains under discussion, with battery storage also proposed; no expanded project award has been announced.
The Electricity Ministry reports discussions on project priorities; the announcement contains no new financing amount or named solar award.
What published Iraqi solar costs, customer tariffs and project milestones establish—and how cost, contract duration, delivered output and payment change modelled returns.
A ministry-reported trial phase began within the planned 1 GW plant; project-wide capacity and operating output remain distinct.
The planned PowerChina project has a stated total capacity of 750 MW; the first-phase date remains a ministry target.
Ecoprogetti supplied the line for the Al-Abbas Holy Shrine’s engineering department; reported annual manufacturing capacity exceeds 200 MW.
The notice covers existing irrigation pumps in Sulaymaniyah, Babylon, Najaf and Dhi Qar.
A July executive interview identifies developer-funded studies and a Baghdad office, rather than a completed investment decision.
The July discussions concerned multiple potential 50 MW installations; the number of sites and committed investment were not disclosed.
The May report concerns an initial land allocation; it does not establish commissioning or identify the investor.
BCF’s Sheladizê installation tender closed on 15 September; no extension or award has been verified.
The latest implementation review covers Al-Dhafaf, Al-Abbasiya and Al-Karkh; commissioning dates and contract values were not disclosed.
A field official reports phase one at 54% completion and preparatory work on water projects and a 200 MW power station.
The deputy oil minister sets a year-end 2026 volume target for three fields and an end-2027 flaring objective for North Oil operations.
UNDP reports an unconditional reduction target of up to 5% below business-as-usual by 2035, with a further 17% dependent on international support.
Reported plans begin with Baghdad pilots and assessment of transport depots for solar-powered charging.
Basra’s grid procurement, Besmaya’s service contracts and telecom hybrid-power deployments reveal distinct markets for equipment, maintenance, metering and commercial solar.
Drone proliferation is changing who can threaten states, interrupt essential services and draw neighbours into war. For Iraq, the greatest danger is the combination of increasingly capable weapons with divided security authority and an economy dependent on concentrated energy infrastructure. Effective adaptation will require more than additional air defences. It will depend on control over armed activity, faster military learning and the ability to keep essential systems functioning under pressure.
The grant funds a regional feasibility study. The reported agreement does not name Iraq as a route or commit funds for a new Iraqi connection.
The Phase 1 contracts covered 132/33-kV substations and 35 transformers; the release does not establish their present condition.
The company said all four project components had entered execution; its start-up expectations were prospective.
The KRG says half of participating households paid under IQD 29,000 in the July cycle; the figure is programme-reported.
A $200 million project design joined transmission, distribution and commercial improvements across four southern governorates.
The 2023 study separates power produced from installed capacity and examines billing, network losses and fuel costs.
The Fund recommends protecting priority capital spending and improving collection before later tariff changes with targeted support.
The ¥27.22 billion Phase 3 loan is a historical financing and project-scope reference, separate from a second fiscal-reform loan.
The FY2023 review reports restored output and generally positive operational results, alongside a substantial delay.
Completed work and a wider modernization pipeline are distinct; the company’s aggregate output projection varies within its release.
The research argues that more generation must be matched with fuel, transmission, distribution and viable collection.
A February interview put a roughly 14-GW ambition in context; it was not a commissioned-capacity figure or one financed contract.
The September 2025 account shows how fuel sourcing and sanctions concerns can constrain generation plans.
The August report describes project priorities under discussion, without a new loan approval or disbursement.
The reported output is a dated ministry-attributed figure; its comparison with summer peak demand is seasonal.
The July 2025 country analysis is a useful terminology and energy-balance baseline, with older observations and planned milestones.
The climate review connects cooling demand, generation constraints and network resilience over future periods.
An existing allocation is supporting water facilities and rehabilitation, according to the local projects department.
The Kurdistan Region’s power programme combines progressive tariffs with a repayment schedule beginning with September bills.
The Kurdistan Region’s Electricity Ministry announced a month of maintenance-related reductions.
The reported construction milestone precedes commercial operation of the accelerated gas facility.
Reported plans would lift investment from $12 billion to $16 billion; the timing and project-level commitments remain the key questions.
The framework covers generation, transmission, maintenance and training, with financing arrangements still to be examined.