Solar economics: cost, daytime demand and contracted revenue
Under a 20-year self-generation model, an assumed complete PV investment of $400,000/MWp gives a 33.4% real, unlevered, pre-tax project IRR and 2.9-year simple payback when 90% of generation displaces electricity costing 10 US cents/kWh. At $800,000/MWp, the same model gives 15.5% and 5.8 years. Both cases hold avoided prices and operating costs constant in real USD and assign no terminal value. The $400,000/MWp input is an illustrative complete-cost assumption; site and connection scope affect actual expenditure.
Runaki is the Kurdistan Regional Government’s programme to extend round-the-clock electricity with metered billing. At its posted commercial and industrial tariffs, savings can be substantially larger than at a ten-cent avoided cost, provided the plant displaces metered consumption. Agricultural tariffs leave a much narrower margin. The customer-class table below quantifies this difference; old electricity-debt instalments remain separate from current energy charges. [3] [4]
A separate 25-year utility PPA model gives a 14.5% real, unlevered, pre-tax IRR and 6.3-year simple payback at the Basra budget-derived $656,000/MWp cost and an assumed seven-cent/kWh price maintained in real USD. At an assumed complete cost of $400,000/MWp, it gives 25.1% and 3.8 years. There is no terminal value, and the model does not reproduce Basra’s actual tariff or contract. A fixed nominal price or a shorter contracted revenue period produces different returns. [24] [25]
Existing roofs or land, usable electrical infrastructure and high daytime consumption can reduce incremental costs and increase the value of business solar. Storage and off-site connection works can change that balance.
Installed cost in Iraq: what the evidence actually supports
ZMC Solar’s 22 August 2026 guide describes the following installed industrial-system estimates. They are supplier planning figures, not disclosed project awards or final costs. [31]
| System size | Published USD/kWp | Equivalent USD/MWp |
|---|---|---|
| 50–200 kWp | $350–550 | $350,000–550,000 |
| 200 kWp–1 MWp | $300–450 | $300,000–450,000 |
| Above 1 MWp | $250–380 | $250,000–380,000 |
The guide’s 500 kWp example totals $187,500 ($375/kWp). It discusses batteries as necessary for factory continuity without specifying storage capacity in the price table. Battery scope, taxes and connection exclusions are therefore unresolved. [31]
ZMC’s 16 May 2026 guide quotes $140,000 for 200 kW, or $700 per reported kW, including panels, inverter, mounting, wiring and installation, with batteries extra. These two publications are from one supplier; they are neither independent corroboration nor matched quotations demonstrating a price decline. [32]
SOLYGENS provides a more explicit small-system comparison: IQD 4.5m installed for 2.6 kWp of panels, a 6.6 kW inverter and 12.03 kWh battery, versus IQD 3.5m for the same inverter and battery without the array. The IQD 1m difference covers the array and associated installation; it is not a complete PV-system price. These undated offers were checked on 10 October 2026 and cannot be scaled into a MW-project quotation. [33]
| Project / evidence date | Disclosed amount and capacity | Calculated unit cost | Evidence and scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basra / TotalEnergies solar; February 2025 budget | $820m; 1 GWac / 1.25 GWp | $656,000/MWp; $820,000/MWac | Basra Investment Commission director’s estimate in a direct interview; DC/AC ratings from TotalEnergies. Derived comparison, not audited final cost. [24] [25] |
| Muthanna / PowerChina; May 2023 approval | $520,234,202; 750 MW | $693,646 per reported MW | Prime Minister’s Office announcement. DC/AC basis unspecified; cannot relabel this $/MWp. Approved amount, not completed outturn. [26] |
| Baghdad government-building PV; 2026 study | $453,440; 843 kW | About $538,000 per reported MW | Authors’ local-market estimate including modules, inverters, structures, electrical equipment and installation; not a verified paid EPC invoice. [27] |
| North Power / UN Assistance Mission for Iraq (UNAMI); completed July 2024 | $4,165,386.70; 2.22 MWp PV + 3.379 MWh battery | $1.876m/MWp for the combined package | Contractor reports completed turnkey microgrids at seven Iraqi sites. Includes storage and controls; unsuitable as a PV-only benchmark. [28] |
The Basra calculation combines a February 2025 budget estimate with the disclosed 1.25 GWp rating, assuming both describe the same full project. Its disclosure does not itemise land, connection works, taxes or financing. Muthanna’s amount is a May 2023 approval despite later implementation reports. The Baghdad paper was published in 2026, but the collection date of its equipment-price inputs is not established; it is a modelled estimate, not an executed construction price.
The $400,000/MWp input is an analytical assumption within advertised price ranges. No itemised quote or comparable completed Iraqi PV-only contract at that total cost was verified. Each scenario treats its capital input as the entire initial investment: any omitted civil works, connection costs, taxes or development expenditure increases it. Storage capacity and the DC/AC denominator also affect comparability.
Why a commercial installation can cost less than a utility project
A factory system can have a lower incremental investment requirement when it uses assets the business already owns. A national-grid project must create a generation site and deliver power to an agreed export point. The differences below are engineering and commercial explanations, not a verified breakdown of Basra’s or Muthanna’s budgets. [34] [35] [36]
| Cost item | Potential commercial-site saving | When the saving disappears |
|---|---|---|
| Site and civil works | An adequate existing roof or serviced plot can avoid a separate land purchase, new access roads and extensive grading. | Roof strengthening, waterproofing, difficult access, ground conditions or new mounting foundations add cost. |
| Electrical connection | Consumption close to the array may use an existing connection and suitable switchgear or transformer capacity. | Protection, synchronisation and export-limiting controls still cost money. A new transformer, substation or network reinforcement can erase the advantage. |
| Plant configuration | Simple fixed-tilt arrays and standard string-inverter blocks can reduce installation complexity. | Trackers, long cable routes, specialist foundations or more demanding availability and control requirements change both capex and yield. |
| Development and finance | Owner-funded on-site systems may need fewer separate development contracts and less construction-period funding. | A third-party corporate PPA still carries development, legal, insurance and financing costs; short construction does not make them zero. |
| Storage and backup | Daytime fuel or grid-energy displacement can be analysed without batteries where the electrical architecture permits operation. | Islanded supply, evening delivery or specified backup duration adds storage and controls. A grid-following PV system alone cannot supply an outage. |
Utility-scale projects retain bulk-purchasing and construction economies. Commercial PV is therefore not inherently cheaper. A low factory installation price and a large-project budget can differ because the former reuses infrastructure or excludes costs, while the latter covers a broader undertaking. The US Department of Energy’s cost model separates hardware, fieldwork, office work and developer overhead; that accounting structure is useful here, but its US price levels are not Iraqi benchmarks. [34]
Timing and units add two further differences. Basra’s February 2025 budget and Muthanna’s May 2023 approval are not October 2026 procurement offers, so later equipment repricing may contribute to the gap without proving its size. Basra’s same $820m budget is $820,000/MWac or $656,000/MWp: that apparent 20% reduction is denominator arithmetic, not a saving. At a new site, a $400,000/MWp installation plus $150,000/MWp of omitted works is a $550,000/MWp investment; the added amount here is illustrative, not an Iraqi cost estimate.
| Cost input per MWp | Real project IRR | Simple payback | PPA price for 12% return |
|---|---|---|---|
| $300,000 | 33.9% | 2.9 years | 3.36 US cents/kWh |
| $400,000 | 25.1% | 3.8 years | 4.13 US cents/kWh |
| $450,000 | 22.1% | 4.3 years | 4.52 US cents/kWh |
| $550,000 | 17.8% | 5.3 years | 5.30 US cents/kWh |
| $656,000 | 14.5% | 6.3 years | 6.12 US cents/kWh |
| $750,000 | 12.4% | 7.2 years | 6.85 US cents/kWh |
Yield is 1,700 kWh/kWp, annual O&M $15,000/MWp, degradation 0.5%, and replacement $60,000/MWp in year 12 of a 25-year life. These remain fixed as capex falls. The lower rows test commercial price levels under PPA operating assumptions; they do not demonstrate that an export project can be delivered for the same amount. Connection and development spending outside the quoted installation price increases the cost input.
Investment basis: assumptions and why they were selected
The reference analysis compares two 1 MWp investments. MWp is the DC module rating; MWac is the AC output rating. The business case assumes $400,000/MWp complete initial capital cost; the utility reference uses $656,000/MWp derived from Basra’s disclosed budget. These different modelling inputs do not establish that smaller plants are generally cheaper.
| Assumption | Business self-generation | Utility PPA | Reason for the assumption |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cost input | $400,000/MWp | $656,000/MWp | Business: illustrative PV-only case within recent indicative supplier pricing, conditional on adequate existing infrastructure; not a firm quote or Iraqi average. Utility: $820m Basra budget ÷ 1,250 MWp; not final outturn or a quotation for a 1 MW plant. |
| Cost sensitivities | $300k–$800k/MWp selectable | Same selectable inputs | Tests the published lower price levels and higher-cost outcomes. No battery is included in the model. Excluded site, connection and nonrecoverable tax costs belong in total upfront spending; financing is assessed separately. |
| Year-one net generation | 1,700 kWh/kWp | 1,700 kWh/kWp | Midpoint of the 1,600–1,800 range discussed in the 2022 Iraq Technology Needs Assessment report; chosen as a neutral resource starting point, not a site P50. Normal physical losses are embedded. |
| Revenue-bearing output | 90% self-consumed; surplus receives zero | 100% delivered and paid in the reference case | A high daytime-use business case; it is an assumption about load matching, not an Iraqi average. The PPA reference isolates tariff and capex before explicit loss stresses. |
| Annual operating cost | $16,000/MWp | $15,000/MWp | Fixed screening budgets for cleaning, maintenance, insurance and administration. Held constant across capex sensitivities, rather than automatically falling with equipment price; replacement is additional. |
| Annual generation degradation | 0.5%, from year two | 0.5%, from year two | A uniform ageing allowance to avoid valuing year-one output unchanged for the full life; not a warranty for any named module. |
| Replacement | $60,000/MWp in year 12 | $60,000/MWp in year 12 | Explicit midlife inverter/control replacement allowance rather than assuming all equipment lasts the full life; not a supplier forecast. |
| Operating life | 20 years | 25 years | Shorter business horizon recognises uncertainty in premises and load continuity; utility life represents an assumed long-term contract period. Neither implies an executed lease or PPA. |
| Required project return | 12% real USD | 12% real USD; 8% and 16% sensitivities | A common analytical hurdle allows comparisons. It is not a measured Iraq cost of capital or an assertion that 12% compensates every project risk. |
| Price and cost path | Constant real USD | Constant real USD | Separates operating economics from an unsupported inflation or FX forecast. A fixed nominal PPA would need a different real revenue path. |
| Residual value, grants and tax relief | Zero / excluded | Zero / excluded | Avoids reliance on an uncontracted terminal sale, subsidy or exemption. Project-specific tax and financing effects require a separate model. |
The $400,000/MWp business capital cost is an illustrative input within indicative supplier pricing. Self-consumption, O&M, replacement, operating life and return hurdles are also assumptions. Annual cleaning, insurance and servicing budgets stay constant across the capital-cost sensitivities. [2] [24] [25] [31]
Business solar: returns depend on avoidable cost and daytime use
The first table changes only the value of the electricity displaced. Capacity, capex, generation, self-consumption and operating costs stay at the business reference assumptions above. “Year-one net saving” deducts O&M. IRR and NPV also include annual degradation and the year-12 replacement; simple payback does not.
| Avoided cost | Year-one net saving | Simple payback | 20-year real project IRR | NPV at 12% real |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $0.03/kWh | $29,900 | 13.4 years | 2.3% | −$202,000 |
| $0.06/kWh | $75,800 | 5.3 years | 17.2% | +$131,000 |
| $0.10/kWh | $137,000 | 2.9 years | 33.4% | +$574,000 |
| $0.18/kWh | $259,400 | 1.5 years | 64.3% | +$1.462m |
At the lower capital cost, a six-cent avoided electricity price clears the 12% hurdle, while three-cent energy does not. High returns in the upper rows require the stated price to be genuinely avoidable on 90% of generation throughout the modelled life. NPV measures value above the 12% hurdle; it is not a prediction of a typical Iraqi project outcome.
| Initial cost per MWp | 20-year real project IRR | Simple payback |
|---|---|---|
| $300,000 | 45.0% | 2.2 years |
| $400,000 | 33.4% | 2.9 years |
| $450,000 | 29.6% | 3.3 years |
| $550,000 | 23.8% | 4.0 years |
| $800,000 | 15.5% | 5.8 years |
This table isolates the installation-cost effect: year-one net savings remain $137,000/MWp, annual O&M $16,000/MWp and year-12 replacement $60,000/MWp. The $300,000–$450,000 inputs test the recent indicative commercial range; $550,000 and $800,000 show the effect of higher complete-project costs. No battery, export revenue or subsidy is assumed.
Runaki tariffs apply to customers served under that KRG programme, rather than to all Iraq. The electricity ministry reported around 90% regional coverage in September 2026, with full coverage still a target. The table converts posted customer-class tariffs, rechecked on 11 October, at an illustrative 1,310 IQD/USD. It excludes discounts, arrears and other bill items and assumes the converted tariff remains constant in real USD. [3] [4]
| Customer class | Posted IQD/kWh | US cents/kWh | Simple payback | Real project IRR | Self-use needed for 12% return |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial | 185 | 14.12 | 2.0 years | 49.4% | 30.7% |
| Industrial | 160 | 12.21 | 2.3 years | 42.0% | 35.5% |
| Large industrial | 125 | 9.54 | 3.1 years | 31.6% | 45.5% |
| Agriculture | 60 | 4.58 | 7.4 years | 10.9% | 94.8% |
Return and payback assume 90% self-consumption. The final column instead gives the share needed to reach the 12% hurdle with no export income. At the lower capex, agricultural PV could clear the hurdle above 94.8% self-use under these assumptions; at 90%, it falls short. Lower installation cost improves the case but does not eliminate the value difference between customer classes.
The relevant tariff is the expenditure actually avoided during solar-producing hours. Generator fuel displaced during outages can increase that value; a fixed generator subscription that remains payable cannot. Runaki’s pre-programme debt instalments also remain payable and should not be included in avoided current energy cost. At hybrid sites, generator minimum loading and grid-transfer controls affect the self-consumption achievable in practice. [4]
Utility PPA: conditional returns over a 25-year revenue period
The utility model commits $656,000/MWp upfront and receives operating cash flows over 25 years. It uses the Basra-derived cost input with the general assumptions above; it does not reproduce Basra’s actual contract, financing or returns. The downside applies a persistent 10% yield reduction followed by 5% uncompensated curtailment, reducing saleable energy by 14.5%. These are sensitivities, not measured Iraqi loss rates.
| PPA price | Reference real IRR | Reference simple payback | Real IRR: combined downside |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6 US cents/kWh | 11.6% | 7.5 years | 9.0% |
| 7 US cents/kWh | 14.5% | 6.3 years | 11.6% |
| 8 US cents/kWh | 17.3% | 5.4 years | 14.1% |
The seven-cent reference case clears the 12% hurdle; the same price falls short under the combined downside. The eight-cent row clears it under both conditions. These returns assume full payment and exclude debt and tax. They therefore describe the project’s operating economics, not sponsor equity returns.
| Required project return | Reference yield | 5% uncompensated curtailment | 10% yield shortfall + 5% curtailment |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8% | 4.82 | 5.07 | 5.64 |
| 12% | 6.12 | 6.44 | 7.16 |
| 16% | 7.52 | 7.91 | 8.79 |
The required-price table solves for the tariff consistent with each return hurdle and delivery condition. All capital, operating and replacement assumptions remain fixed. These are modelled break-even prices over 25 years, not observed or proposed Iraqi PPA tariffs.
| Real PPA price | Reference yield | 5% curtailment | 10% yield shortfall + 5% curtailment |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6 cents/kWh | 641 | 602 | 528 |
| 7 cents/kWh | 770 | 724 | 639 |
| 8 cents/kWh | 898 | 847 | 749 |
This table asks how much total upfront investment each tariff can support at a 12% return. The ceiling includes all project costs paid at the start. Any land, connection or development cost outside the base estimate consumes the difference between that estimate and the ceiling. The public Basra budget does not itemise those costs, so its coverage cannot be assumed for another site.
Seven-year corporate PPA: contract duration and debt tenor
This separate illustration assumes a 1 MWp project with only seven years of contracted income: $400,000 complete initial capital, 1.7 GWh in year one, 0.5% annual degradation, a fixed nominal 12 cents/kWh paid on all generated output, and $16,000 nominal annual O&M. It includes no revenue or terminal value after year seven, no replacement within the term, and no taxes, finance fees or working-capital costs. The tariff, installation cost and financing terms are illustrative. The 12% nominal NPV hurdle below is separate from the 12% real hurdle used elsewhere.
| Case | Initial cost | Project IRR | NPV at 12% nominal |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reference: 12 cents/kWh | $400,000 | 42.7% | $446,200 |
| Higher complete cost | $550,000 | 27.7% | $296,200 |
| Lower price: 7 cents/kWh | $400,000 | 16.9% | $63,192 |
| 10% less generation; 5% non-collection | $400,000 | 34.2% | $312,913 |
These scenarios assign no probabilities. The reference case’s high return depends on a 12-cent paid price and a complete $400,000 cost; the seven-cent row changes only price. The combined downside separately reduces generation and collects only 95% of invoiced energy. A seven-year contract cannot inherit the 25-year model’s assumed revenue tail.
If the full $400,000 were financed at an assumed 10% nominal interest with three equal annual total repayments, each year-end payment would be $160,846. Interest is calculated on the declining outstanding balance. This convention differs from equal annual principal payments and does not imply that full-cost financing is available.
| Year | Cash available before debt | Principal + interest | DSCR | Cash after debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $188,000 | $160,846 | 1.17× | $27,154 |
| 2 | $186,980 | $160,846 | 1.16× | $26,134 |
| 3 | $185,965 | $160,846 | 1.16× | $25,119 |
Full-cost borrowing leaves annual coverage of 1.16–1.17× before fees, reserves, tax and payment delays. At an illustrative minimum 1.30× coverage, level-payment debt would be limited to approximately $355,744, with the balance funded otherwise. This is an assumed coverage test, not a lender rule. With no initial equity contribution in the full-debt example, conventional equity IRR is undefined. Annual cash flow also cannot establish whether each month’s repayment can be met.
Iraq solar investment calculator
Article starting assumptions · Real USD project returns, before debt and tax. Choosing a case resets its inputs. All calculations stay in this tab.
Additional costs, export value and loss assumptions
Meets the entered 12.0% real project-return hurdle. Business savings valued at 10.00 US cents/kWh.
- Total upfront investment
- $400,000
- Year-one energy after additional losses
- 1,700.0 MWh
- Year-one self-consumed energy
- 1,530.0 MWh
- Year-one saving / receipt less O&M
- $137,000
- Cumulative payback, including replacement
- 2.9 years
- Break-even avoided price at 12.0%
- 4.82 US ¢/kWh
- Maximum total upfront capex at this hurdle
- $974,304
View annual project cash flows
| Year | Delivered MWh | Savings / receipts | O&M + replacement | Net cash flow | Cumulative |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | — | — | Initial capex | -$400,000 | -$400,000 |
| 1 | 1,700.0 | $153,000 | $16,000 | $137,000 | -$263,000 |
| 2 | 1,691.5 | $152,235 | $16,000 | $136,235 | -$126,765 |
| 3 | 1,683.0 | $151,474 | $16,000 | $135,474 | $8,709 |
| 4 | 1,674.6 | $150,716 | $16,000 | $134,716 | $143,425 |
| 5 | 1,666.3 | $149,963 | $16,000 | $133,963 | $277,388 |
| 6 | 1,657.9 | $149,213 | $16,000 | $133,213 | $410,601 |
| 7 | 1,649.6 | $148,467 | $16,000 | $132,467 | $543,068 |
| 8 | 1,641.4 | $147,725 | $16,000 | $131,725 | $674,793 |
| 9 | 1,633.2 | $146,986 | $16,000 | $130,986 | $805,779 |
| 10 | 1,625.0 | $146,251 | $16,000 | $130,251 | $936,030 |
| 11 | 1,616.9 | $145,520 | $16,000 | $129,520 | $1,065,550 |
| 12 | 1,608.8 | $144,792 | $76,000 | $68,792 | $1,134,342 |
| 13 | 1,600.8 | $144,068 | $16,000 | $128,068 | $1,262,410 |
| 14 | 1,592.8 | $143,348 | $16,000 | $127,348 | $1,389,758 |
| 15 | 1,584.8 | $142,631 | $16,000 | $126,631 | $1,516,390 |
| 16 | 1,576.9 | $141,918 | $16,000 | $125,918 | $1,642,308 |
| 17 | 1,569.0 | $141,208 | $16,000 | $125,208 | $1,767,516 |
| 18 | 1,561.1 | $140,502 | $16,000 | $124,502 | $1,892,018 |
| 19 | 1,553.3 | $139,800 | $16,000 | $123,800 | $2,015,818 |
| 20 | 1,545.6 | $139,101 | $16,000 | $123,101 | $2,138,919 |
Calculation method and limits
Year-one energy = MWp × 1,000 × net yield × (1 − additional yield shortfall) × (1 − additional curtailment). Degradation reduces generation from year two. Business savings = self-consumed energy × avoided price + surplus × contracted export price. PPA receipts = delivered energy × PPA price × (1 − non-collection).
Annual project cash flow deducts operating cost and replacement. NPV discounts each year-end cash flow at the real hurdle; IRR sets NPV to zero. The capex ceiling is the present value of future net cash flows. Cumulative payback is the interpolated point after which the undiscounted balance stays non-negative through the remaining model life.
Prices and operating costs remain constant in real USD. IQD entry is a one-time conversion, not a currency forecast. The model excludes tax, debt in project returns, inflation, financing fees, receivables, construction phasing, storage, terminal value and ancillary income. Hourly self-consumption, network constraints and equipment performance require project-specific inputs.
The debt illustration discounts permissible annual debt service at the nominal interest rate. CFADS deducts annual O&M and the entered replacement reserve; replacement is not deducted again. All reserve contributions are assumed available for the stated replacement. The article explains the starting assumptions and their rationale.
Financing and settlement: project return is only the first test
Debt capacity is calculated separately using cash available for debt service (CFADS). The illustration assumes a flat nominal USD electricity price and operating cost, 12-year repayment, 9% nominal interest and a 1.30× debt-service coverage ratio (DSCR). DSCR is CFADS divided by scheduled principal and interest. These are financing assumptions, not Iraqi loan offers; the calculation does not produce an equity IRR.
Annual CFADS deducts operating cost and a $5,000/MWp replacement reserve, chosen to fund the assumed $60,000 replacement over 12 years. Permissible debt service is CFADS divided by DSCR; discounting that service at the loan rate gives the initial principal. The reserve funds replacement, so the replacement is not charged a second time in this debt calculation.
| Nominal PPA price | Reference generation | 10% yield shortfall + 5% curtailment |
|---|---|---|
| 6 cents/kWh | $439,000/MWp · 67.0% gearing | $360,000/MWp · 54.8% gearing |
| 7 cents/kWh | $531,000/MWp · 80.9% gearing | $438,000/MWp · 66.7% gearing |
| 8 cents/kWh | $622,000/MWp · 94.9% gearing | $516,000/MWp · 78.7% gearing |
Read the percentage as the mechanical debt ceiling divided by the reference capex. It is not committed leverage. The stressed column changes generation only; price, O&M and loan terms are unchanged. Fees, tax, a debt-service reserve account, receivables and lender gearing caps are excluded. Their inclusion can lower usable debt or increase the equity funding requirement.
| Exposure | Illustrative financial consequence | Contract interface |
|---|---|---|
| 5% permanent non-collection | Required billed price rises by 1/0.95, or 5.26% | Security must cover payment failure, not only invoice administration. |
| 180-day payment lag | At 7 cents, approximately $58,700/MWp tied in receivables; about $7,000 annual carry at 12% | Settlement timing, liquidity facility and late-payment recovery. |
| 10% depreciation in fixed-IQD receipts | USD receipts fall 10% if the dinar's USD value falls 10% | Indexation, conversion and transfer terms determine debt-service exposure. |
| 5% utility curtailment | 12%-hurdle energy price rises from 6.12 to 6.44 cents | Compensated events, deemed-energy calculation and enforceability. |
The settlement table separates permanent non-collection from payment delay. Non-collection reduces revenue; delay consumes working capital and adds financing cost. The currency example concerns a fall in the dinar’s USD value, not the same percentage rise in an IQD-per-dollar quotation. A 30 May 2023 Cabinet notice records take-or-pay treatment for TotalEnergies’ solar purchase under the agreed contract. The notice does not disclose the tariff, term, curtailment definition, payment security, termination compensation or convertibility terms. It therefore establishes a project-specific purchase decision, not identical protection for other PPAs. [26]
Engineering and connection scope: translate performance into cash flow
The model’s net yield already includes an allowance for normal physical losses. The investment question is whether a different design, operating plan or grid interface changes delivered energy or total cost relative to that baseline. The following sensitivities place those changes on a consistent value basis; they should not be added mechanically to one another.
| Change | Modelled effect | Boundary of the calculation |
|---|---|---|
| Recover one percentage point of annual reference generation | About $9,000/MWp present value at a seven-cent PPA | Recovery persists through the operating life; no additional O&M or curtailment of the recovered energy. |
| Add $200,000/MWp upfront connection/development cost | Required tariff rises by 1.55 US cents/kWh | Same operating life, generation and recurring costs. |
| Add $5,000/MWp annual operating cost | Required tariff rises by about 0.30 US cents/kWh | Constant real annual cost throughout the operating life. |
| Delay all operating cash flows by six months | Required tariff rises from 6.12 to about 6.42 US cents/kWh | Initial capex stays at the original date and the full 25 operating years remain; construction interest and penalties excluded. |
Soiling and heat require site-specific treatment. The IEA Photovoltaic Power Systems Programme (IEA PVPS) identifies seasonal and spatial variation in soiling and explains why non-uniform deposits can make a short-circuit-current proxy understate power loss. LONGi’s Hi-MO 7 LR5-72HGD brochure, for example, supplies a module temperature coefficient; converting that coefficient into annual revenue requires the site’s temperature, irradiance, clipping and dispatch profile. A product specification alone does not establish an Iraqi annual yield advantage. [14] [15]
Basra’s disclosed 1 GWac/1.25 GWp ratio illustrates why a price “per MW” needs a denominator. A $400,000/MWp price equals $500,000/MWac at that ratio. Conversely, $400,000/MWac would equal $320,000/MWp. Grid disconnection, generator controls, soiling and availability also need distinct loss allowances to avoid counting the same exposure twice. [25]
Grid capacity: a connection-specific opportunity
Solar can add substantial daytime energy and release fuel otherwise used in thermal generation. At the reference yield, a hypothetical 12 GWp fleet would produce about 20.4 TWh annually before additional curtailment. This is an energy calculation; it is not an estimate of firm capacity or an assertion that all those plants can connect. IRENA records a roughly 12 GW solar ambition for 2030, while EIA’s federal figures for 2024 put available peak generation at 25 GW against 48 GW summer demand. Neither dataset establishes a current grid-hosting limit. [1] [16]
| Binding constraint | Effect on project economics |
|---|---|
| Substation/line thermal loading under contingencies | Export cap or reinforcement capex; losses and completion dates depend on the connection node. |
| Voltage/reactive-power requirement | Inverter apparent-power headroom, active-power limits or compensating equipment; affects EPC scope and guaranteed output. |
| Weak-grid dynamics and protection | Control interaction, ride-through and trip exposure; affects model validation, commissioning and availability. |
| Minimum thermal generation and downward reserve | Seasonal or hourly curtailment even where local network capacity exists. |
| Evening ramp and reserve procurement | Value depends on the timing of delivered energy and any separately contracted flexibility payment. |
The grid table explains why a large national supply deficit does not translate directly into a bankable connection offer. Local voltage and thermal constraints may bind before national energy demand does; minimum conventional generation and reserve requirements can create curtailment at other hours. Inverter support capabilities can help, but their active-power trade-offs, equipment scope and remuneration must be specified. No ancillary-services income or firm-capacity payment is included in this investment case. [17]
The investable capacity is therefore the capacity supported by a defined connection node, export envelope, reinforcement programme and curtailment allocation. The available evidence does not support a single national maximum. The PPA tables express the financial consequence of that uncertainty through explicit delivered-energy sensitivities.
Storage, net metering and wheeling: additional value must be contractible
IRENA’s 2025 assessment reports that the KRG Ministry of Electricity issued grid-connection regulations including energy-offset net metering (printed p.64). The underlying instrument, eligibility, settlement interval, carry-forward rules and implementation at a particular connection were not obtained. It does not establish cash payment for surplus exports or universal retail-rate credit. Federal and KRG arrangements remain distinct; the reference models assign no export revenue. [1]
| Jurisdiction / model | Evidence | Economic implication and unresolved terms |
|---|---|---|
| Federal / TotalEnergies Basra solar | Cabinet decision announced 30 May 2023; take-or-pay purchase under agreed contract [26]. | Project-specific purchase treatment. No verified tariff, duration, deemed-energy definition, payment guarantee or termination schedule; do not transfer to other projects. |
| KRG / connected customer PV | IRENA 2025, printed p.64, reports issued connection regulations and energy-offset net metering [1]. | Possible bill-offset mechanism; underlying instrument and customer eligibility unverified. Export income remains zero in reference cases. |
| Federal / export and wheeling | No generally available export-credit instrument or open-access wheeling tariff established in this review. | The separate export and wheeling figures are sensitivities; no legal entitlement or standard charge is inferred. |
| Project approvals, land, tax and customs | Project-specific permits, land rights, environmental approvals, import treatment and tax eligibility are not established for the illustrative projects. | Financial tables are pre-tax; no exemption or subsidy is assumed. Applicable taxes and unbudgeted approvals or connection costs change net returns. |
| Federal financing / CBI | 9 July 2026 financing-initiative announcement [18]. | Existence of initiative supported; borrower eligibility, collateral, interest and tenor remain transaction-specific. |
| Option | Explicit assumptions | Calculated threshold / result |
|---|---|---|
| Battery added to PV | $600,000 for 2 MWh; 90% usable capacity; 300 input-equivalent cycles/year; 90% round-trip efficiency; $9,000 annual O&M; ten years; 12% real hurdle | 486 MWh/year discharge; needs 23.7 US cents/kWh of discharge value with free charging, or 34.8 cents with a 10-cent charging opportunity cost. |
| Exporting surplus business PV | Higher-cost comparison: $800,000/MWp; other business assumptions unchanged; 60% self-consumed at 10 cents/kWh; remaining output exportable; 12% real hurdle | Needs approximately 3.96 US cents/kWh for the exported 40% to reach the hurdle. At $400,000/MWp, the same 60% self-use already clears it without exports. Neither result establishes a settlement entitlement. |
| Off-site corporate PPA | 7-cent plant price; 8% delivery loss; 1.5 cents/kWh network charge and 0.5 cents balancing cost, both per delivered kWh | 9.61 US cents/kWh delivered, before backup, taxes or other fees. Charges are hypothetical, not a published Iraqi wheeling schedule. |
These are independent options, not revenues included in the headline returns. Battery capital cost is an illustrative assumption. Usable capacity leaves a state-of-charge margin, the cycle allowance permits non-cycling days, and the shorter life recognises earlier replacement than PV. Constant throughput and no augmentation nevertheless make the result optimistic. The export case shows the payment required to rescue a lower-utilisation project. The wheeling case illustrates how delivery costs can consume the apparent discount to the customer’s tariff. None establishes a right to connect, export or wheel electricity.
The Central Bank of Iraq (CBI)’s July renewable-energy financing announcement supports the existence of a financing initiative, but does not establish one universally available commercial interest rate or tenor. No grant, subsidised loan, investment-licence tax relief or customs exemption is used to make the reference cases viable. Such benefits affect returns only if applicable to the particular borrower, project and import transaction. [18]
Project pipeline: disclosed stages and counterparties
TotalEnergies discloses a 1 GWac/1.25 GWp Basra solar project. The October 2024 partnership envisaged equal TotalEnergies/QatarEnergy ownership, subject to approvals; wider GGIP ownership is separate. A Reuters interview recorded on 21 April 2026 attributes to TotalEnergies supervisor Haider Adnan the statement that the first 250 MW unit began operating and connected to the grid in March. This advances the earlier 61 MW trial report, but is an attributed operating milestone rather than audited output or an October aggregate commissioning figure. [6] [7] [25] [37]
| Asset / participants | Dated evidence | Commercial interpretation |
|---|---|---|
| Muthanna / PowerChina | 750 MW planned; initial 250 MW targeted before summer 2027, reported 29 August 2026 | Phased delivery target; the source does not disclose financing close, PPA price or an available EPC package. |
| UGTR / Sun Africa / KAR | Developer-funded technical, legal and financial studies described in July 2026 | Pre-investment engineering and commercial development; committed construction capital not established. |
| Najaf | Initial land allocation for a planned 1,000 MW project, May 2026 | Land milestone; investor identity, evacuation scope and executed PPA not established. |
| KRG / Jawda Engineering Consultants | Discussions on several proposed 50 MW plants, July 2026 | Development proposal; number of sites, connection terms and committed finance undisclosed. |
| Masdar | 2021 agreement: Dhi Qar 450 MW; Ramadi 100 + 250 MW; Mosul 100 MW; Amarah 100 MW | Historical development scope; no current operating-capacity or procurement assertion. |
| Karbala / Al-Abbas engineering department / Ecoprogetti | Ecoprogetti reports >200 MW/year installed line capacity; the June opening report describes a 100 MW/year first phase. Neither is measured annual output. | Local manufacturing capacity, with actual utilisation, cell sourcing and price competitiveness undisclosed. |
The table records disclosed development stages, not a near-term equipment-order forecast. Basra’s delivery progress supports an installed-base service opportunity; Muthanna’s phased target suggests potential staged construction demand; the UGTR/KAR work remains a development-services reference at the reported stage. Available evidence does not establish open procurement for each project or convert their combined headline capacity into committed capital. [8] [10] [11] [12] [9] [13] [29] [30]
EPCs and importers: execution capability and working capital
| Participant | Iraq-facing evidence |
|---|---|
| Progress Sun, Erbil | Company identifies EPC at Koya University and consulting/owner’s-engineer work for the 4.4 MW Coca-Cola project at Khabat. Its larger Duhok references include consultancy, not a verified completed EPC portfolio. |
| Solarix, Erbil office | Company lists energy engineering, solar integration and automation; listed product brands include LONGi, Jinko, JA Solar, Huawei, Sungrow, SMA and Deye. |
| Kol AlManafith, Baghdad | Named in Sungrow’s manufacturer distributor directory. |
| Madi Renewable Energy, Baghdad | Company describes LONGi/Deye distribution and a Narinco partnership. |
| Al-Abbas engineering department, Karbala | Engineering Projects Department oversees Al-Kafeel Energy Solutions’ module production; Ecoprogetti supplied the line. Published first-phase and line-capacity figures differ. |
The supplier table identifies roles and channels, not market shares or exclusive distribution rights. Progress Sun’s distinction between EPC and owner’s-engineer assignments matters when interpreting its referenced MW. The imported-product examples establish visible channels for modules and inverters; they do not establish relative sales volumes. Karbala’s reported manufacturing capacity may affect service and lead times, but actual utilisation and delivered-cost competitiveness remain undisclosed. [19] [20] [21] [22] [13]
For importers, cash conversion can determine the return more than the equipment markup. The next table uses one illustrative $125,000 sale with $100,000 equipment cost, $8,000 logistics/clearance and a $2,000 warranty allowance. The resulting $15,000 contribution is reduced by financing $110,000 at an assumed 12% annual rate. Days measure the full funding period; they are not estimates of typical Iraqi distributor terms.
| Cash funding period | Financing cost | Contribution before overhead and tax |
|---|---|---|
| 90 days | $3,255 | $11,745 |
| 180 days | $6,510 | $8,490 |
| 270 days | $9,764 | $5,236 |
| 180 days plus a 5% selling-price discount | $6,510 | $2,240 |
The comparison holds equipment, logistics and warranty costs constant, so the deterioration comes solely from time and price concessions. Warranty replacement stock, overseas diagnosis and credit extended to installers can lengthen that funding period. A manufacturer’s product warranty does not itself fund local labour, freight or customer downtime.
FAO notice 2026/FNIRQ/FNIRQ/138066 covers solar variable-frequency-drive systems for existing irrigation pumps in Sulaymaniyah, Babylon, Najaf and Dhi Qar, including delivery, installation, testing, commissioning and training. Its displayed deadline, rechecked on 11 October 2026, is 15 October at 14:00 Baghdad. The notice is not an award; quantities and any amendments are governed by the issuer’s tender documents. [23]
What the evidence and calculations establish
At a ten-cent avoided price, the 20-year business model gives roughly 30–45% real project IRR across assumed complete costs of $450,000–$300,000/MWp, versus 15.5% at $800,000/MWp. This isolates the cost effect at 90% self-use. It does not validate those installation budgets or guarantee two decades of avoided prices, daytime demand and performance.
The 25-year utility reference gives 14.5% real project IRR at a seven-cent real price, or 11.6% after the combined yield and curtailment downside. A complete $400,000/MWp project would give 25.1% on the same assumptions. These are pre-tax, unlevered outcomes with no terminal value. Existing infrastructure, different cost scope, procurement dates and capacity denominators can all contribute to the commercial-versus-utility cost gap; available disclosures do not quantify each contribution.
The three business models have different revenue foundations: avoided electricity purchases, contracted electricity sales, and equipment or service margins. Their outcomes turn on complete project cost, billable or self-consumed output, duration and collection. Storage, export settlement and wheeling add value only through defined costs and payment rights. The evidence supports these conditional comparisons; it does not establish a sector-wide return or an investment recommendation.
Calculation method and source notes
The 20-year business and 25-year utility models calculate annual cash flow as valued generation less O&M and the stated replacement. Initial capital is paid at time zero; generation degrades from year two. Prices and operating costs remain constant in real USD, with no terminal value. IRR sets NPV to zero; NPV uses the stated real hurdle. Simple payback divides capital cost by first-year savings after O&M and excludes later degradation and replacement. The separate seven-year case below the utility tables instead uses nominal USD. Values are rounded.
Required PPA price equals discounted costs divided by discounted paid energy. The capex ceiling equals discounted operating cash flows before the initial investment. The separate debt illustration uses nominal cash flows and nominal interest, a replacement reserve and no balloon. It is not an integrated equity-return forecast. The calculator exposes the assumptions and exports annual cash flows; it is an annual screening model, not an hourly dispatch, tax, construction-finance or network study.
1. IRENA: Energy transition assessment, Iraq, 2025
4. KRG Ministry of Electricity: coverage and debt-instalment announcement, 20 September 2026
5. TotalEnergies: GGIP release, 10 January 2025
6. Qatar News Agency: solar partnership agreement, 28 October 2024
7. pv magazine: Basra trial milestone, 4 March 2026
8. Iraq Business News: PowerChina/Muthanna discussions, 29 August 2026
9. Masdar: five-project Iraq agreement, 7 October 2021
10. Shafaq News: UGTR/Sun Africa executive interview, 17 July 2026
11. 964media: Najaf land handover, 3 May 2026
12. IraqiNews: KRG/JEC solar proposals, 1 July 2026
13. pv magazine: Karbala module manufacturing, 22 July 2026
14. LONGi: Hi-MO 7 LR5-72HGD product brochure, temperature coefficient
15. IEA PVPS Task 13: Soiling losses, 2022, measurement and mitigation sections
16. EIA Iraq Country Analysis Brief (July 2025), p.11: 2024 federal electricity estimates
17. US Department of Energy: inverter and grid-services capabilities
18. CBI: renewable-energy finance initiative, 9 July 2026
19. Progress Sun: published project references and delivery roles
20. Solarix: Iraq office, services and listed brands
21. Sungrow: distributor directory, Kol AlManafith, Baghdad
22. Madi Renewable Energy: company-described distribution relationships
23. FAO/UNGM: solar VFD pumping systems, notice 2026/FNIRQ/FNIRQ/138066
25. TotalEnergies: Shareholders’ Newsletter 78, Fall 2025, p.12 — 1 GWac / 1.25 GWp
28. North Power Company: completed solar contracts — 2.22 MWp / 3.379 MWh UNAMI package, July 2024
29. Ecoprogetti: Iraq module manufacturing line, 10 July 2026 — installed line capacity
30. Al-Kafeel: Karbala factory opening — first-phase capacity and operating organisation
33. SOLYGENS: installed solar/storage package prices, undated offers checked 10 October 2026
35. US Department of Energy: large-scale solar siting — land, connection and development scope
36. US Department of Energy: solar soft costs — permitting, financing and business overhead